Canberra driver Harry Bates on start list for National Capital Rally

18 May 2018 7:41 AM

54 0

Canberran Harry Bates and Queenslander John McCarthy celebrate their victory in the National Capital Rally last year.

The National Capital Rally has finalised its start list for the Asia Pacific Rally Championship to be held in Canberra from June 1-3.

The event will combine the ARPC and the Australian Rally Championship into one field for the first time, allowing all competitors to fight for an overall victory this year.

Canberra racer and defending champion Harry Bates will be looking to go back to back with Neal Bates Motorsport in a Toyota Yaris AP4.

Eli Evans and Ben Searcy of team Tankformers, who won in April, are among the favourites to challenge Bates this year.

International talents Mike Young, Fabio Frisiero and current ARPC leader Yuya Sumiyama will also race in the capital despite overall numbers expected to be lower than last year.

"The quality of the field is exceptional with the three R5 Skodas, the AP4 cars as well as the two Subaru’s. There are legitimately six competitors who could win the rally," said event manager Michael Wallace.


To category page