Brumbies chief Andrew Fagan steps down

22 November 2013 2:42 AM

171 0

Brumbies chief Andrew Fagan steps down

ACT Brumbies chief executive Andrew Fagan has resigned, announcing he will leave the club next month less than six months after signing a new contract.

Coach Jake White quit the last two years of his contract in September and has been replaced by Stephen Larkham and Laurie Fisher.

Fagan has quit after spending the past eight years as Brumbies chief executive and more than a decade at the club.

However, leaving the Brumbies will allow him to openly negotiate with other clubs and rival sporting codes as he looks for a new role.

Fagan was interviewed by the Canterbury Bulldogs earlier this year to be their new chief executive, but Fagan stayed with the Brumbies and the Bulldogs appointed Raelene Castle as their new boss.

There has been speculation linking Fagan to a move to NRL headquarters in the future as well as the NSW Waratahs.

Fagan said his decision to leave now, despite his contract not expiring until August next year, was best for all parties.

Fagan has overseen massive changes at the Brumbies since taking charge as chief executive at the end of 2005.

He endured controversy to get ACT government approval for a $30 million, 130-apartment complex to be built at the club's Griffith headquarters.

The Brumbies will also move into a new $15million home at the University of Canberra at the end of March next year.

Fagan signed the University of Canberra as the club’s major sponsor after Huawei reneged on a multi-million-dollar deal on the eve of the 2012 campaign.

In Fagan’s time, Laurie Fisher, Andy Friend and Jake White have been the club’s head coaches.

Fagan stepped in to sack Friend after just two games in 2011 and the Brumbies experienced the lowest ebb of their history following the decision.

However, he recruited World Cup-winning coach Jake White to lead a revival.

The Brumbies narrowly missed the final in White’s first season in charge in 2011 and then charged into the Super Rugby final this year, losing a heart-breaking grand final to the Waikato Chiefs.


To category page