Receive up-to-the-minute news updates on the hottest topics with NewsHub. Install now.

Ball sits on edge of cup for 35 seconds ... and goes in

17 November 2018 3:31 AM
40 0

He was originally credited with a birdie, but an on-course rules official later told McLeod of the one-stroke penalty on the next hole. Tournament director Trevor Herden will discuss the issue with McLeod after the round and determine whether the penalty stands.

The 24-year-old broke through for his first professional win last week at the NSW Open and fleetingly led the Australian Open after the controversial incident.

It comes less than 24 hours after another Australian Open rules drama when Belgian Nicolas Colsaerts was originally docked two shots for grounding his club in a bunker trying to avoid a moving ball which failed to clear a trap on his first attempt.

Officials even contacted world golf's ruling authority The R&A during the middle of the European night for guidance on the decision, which was later reversed as Colsaerts was playing his penultimate hole.

Source: brisbanetimes.com.au

Share in social networks:

Comments - 0